Teaching a False Gospel

When I see articles with the ‘shock and awe’ titles I always try and stay away. It’s probably the little bit of childhood rebellion I have left in me that makes me say, ‘If you want me to look I am NOT going to. I make my own choices.’  But this one caught my attention for different reason, not because I was afraid (which I think the title tries to make you), but because I myself came from a childhood where I was taught false things about the Bible. So this is not a ‘do better parenting’ post; rather, it is a charge to be more aware.The author, Phil Vischer, says that there are three things we need to be doing better as parents, and that is to help our kids:

  • Understand the Story they are in
  • Understand the Bad News of that Story
  • Understand the Good News of that Story

In the post Phil goes in depth about each of these three things so I challenge you to read and think on these.

Are you teaching your kids a false gospel

P.s. For those of you who may not be aware, Phil Vischer is the creator of Veggie Tales –Just a fun fact.

 

One thought on “Teaching a False Gospel

Leave a Reply

